Students at work in Microbio 102
Reading tests in Micorbio 102
Students at work in Microbio 551
Professor Paustian consulting with a student about their work.
Testing a DNA sample's quality using the nanodrop
Material ready for class
Students at work in Microbio 102

Awards and Scholarships

Department of Bacteriology Awards

The Department of Bacteriology is pleased to offer several scholarships to support undergraduate students in the Microbiology major. Awards are given annually for a variety of purposes from funding undergraduate research and providing travel stipends to microbiology students attending a professional scientific conference to awarding scholarships to graduating seniors for outstanding overall achievement and for excellence in research. Students who are declared in the Microbiology major will be notified by email when applications become available (in late February / early March each year, with recipients being selected in early May) and when the nomination materials are due.

Below is a list of our scholarships and information about the source of each:

  • Jack L. Pate Undergraduate Travel Award
    Jack L. Pate was a beloved faculty member in the Department of Bacteriology from 1967-1991. A fund in his memory to support undergraduate activities was established following his death in 1992.
  • William B. Sarles Scholarship
    William B. Sarles was a professor of Bacteriology from 1932 to 1972 and department chair from 1954-1968. The Sarles Fund was established by colleagues and former students to honor Dr. Sarles’ life work and dedication to students through teaching and mentoring. In recognition of his teaching achievements, Dr. Sarles received the Carski Distinguished Teaching Award from the American Society for Microbiology.
  • Philipp and Vera Gerhardt Undergraduate Excellence Award
    Philipp Gerhardt received a Ph.D. in Bacteriology from UW-Madison in 1949. Dr. Gerhardt is an Emeritus Professor of Microbiology at Michigan State University, and wrote Methods for General and Molecular Bacteriology. He served as President of both the American Society for Microbiology and the International Union of Microbiological Societies.
  • William Harmon Wright Scholarship
    William (Windy) Wright received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Agricultural Bacteriology from UW-Madison and was a professor in the Department from 1909 until his death in 1929. Dr. Wright, a superb teacher, got the name “Windy” from his students who thought he could breathe and talk at the same time. This scholarship is made possible through the Ira N. Fender Fund to honor Mr. Fender’s favorite professor, “Windy” Wright.
  • Ronald Hinsdill Microbiology High Achievement Award
    The Microbiology High Achievement Award Fund was created out of gratitude felt by the extended Hinsdill family, five members of which received one or more degrees from the University of Wisconsin System, including Emeritus Professor Ronald D. Hinsdill. Dr. Hinsdill is the former Chair of the Department of Bacteriology, former Director of Environmental Toxicology and Emeritus Professor of Preventive Medicine.
  • Karl Leemkuil Memorial Award
    Karl Leemkuil received his B.S. degree in Bacteriology in 1963 from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and worked as a microbiologist until his death on November 10, 1980 from leukemia. He was known throughout his life for his honesty, integrity, dedication and courage. The Leemkuil award was established in his memory by Gibco Laboratories, his long-term employer.

Other awards: